Sophie’s progress in kindergarten

Earlier this week, when I asked Sophie about my upcoming conference with her teacher, our conversation went like this:

Sophie's school picture

Sophie's school picture

Rachel: What’s Mrs. Waterman going to tell me about you this week?

Sophie: Wow! Your daughter is doing great!

Rachel: {Laughing}

Sophie: Mommy, you know what I’m thankful for?

Rachel: What?

Sophie: Your laugh.

Rachel: {Stunned silence}

So today I actually had the meeting. And Mrs. Waterman did, in fact, tell me my daughter is doing great. Sophie is doing better with reading and math than most kids her age, has demonstrated remarkable kindness to one boy in the class who has special needs and generally seems to have made the transition to school very nicely.

What more could I ask for? It’s a good day to be a mom!

2 thoughts on “Sophie’s progress in kindergarten

Leave a Reply

