These aren’t the best books of 2009

I read some fantastic books this year. Some I gulped down quickly (like The River Wife by Jonis Agee); others required a bit of a warm up (like The Book Thief by Markus Zusak) but then proved quite enjoyable.

And then there’s a third category: The books I began but never got around to finishing. Four of them for 2009, to be precise. They mock me as they sit on the shelf, bookmarks tucked into place, waiting for me to return. They all came highly recommended; I’m sure they’re all wonderful books. But they’re just not doing anything for me, and I’ve decided to admit defeat and start 2010 with a clean slate.

Here they are, in no particular order: The Yiddish Policemen’s Union by Michael Chabon; The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz; Reading Lolita in Tehran: A Memoir in Books by Azar Nafisi; and Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortensen.

I know, I know. Greg Mortensen? He’s so inspiring! Junot Diaz is an incredible author! Yada, yada, yada. I just can’t seem to get into these books. Maybe it’s my mommy brain, which used to be able to digest the entire Iliad in a day or two and now is crammed full of the entire Fancy Nancy series. Maybe it’s my work, which requires me to read scientific papers and journal articles. Maybe I spend too much time on Facebook.

But maybe, just maybe, there’s nothing wrong with me. These books are good books; I’m still a good reader. We’re just not a good match for each other. Ah well.

Just to assure you (and me) that I haven’t given up on reading, here are some of the books I did finish (and enjoy) this year: That Old Cape Magic by Richard Russo; The Best American Science Writing 2008; Unwind by Neal Shusterman; The Book Thief by Markus Zusak; The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer; The Last Secret: A Novel by Mary McGarry Morris; Peace Like a River by Leif Enger; When You Are Engulfed in Flames by David Sedaris; The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger; Armageddon in Retrospect by Kurt Vonnegut; My Life in France by Julia Child; The River Wife by Jonis Agee; New Moon, Eclipse and Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer; Manhunt: The 12-Day Chase for Lincoln’s Killer by James L. Swanson;  and The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch.

3 thoughts on “These aren’t the best books of 2009

  1. Hmmmmmmmm…Janet says Three Cups of Tea was one of the best books she ever read and she flew through it like it was a short story.

    I on the other hand haven’t even been able to pick it up, so I credit you for at least giving it a go.

    There’s no doubt that some books meet us where we are in life. And the great part is, they patiently await our arrival even if we aren’t ready for them for years or a lifetime.

  2. I enjoyed Three Cups of Tea but it wasn’t a quick read for me. I devoured The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao in a day or so. Loved it!

    But I always have a handful of books I just can’t get into. I can’t hate on you!

Leave a Reply

