Rachel’s recommended reading

I love reading. Also making lists of books to read, reviewing books, talking about books … Well, you get the idea.

best booksRecently, a few friends have asked me for book recommendations, which inspired me to make up a list of the best books I’ve read during the past few years. These aren’t necessarily new books, though many of them are. Most of them are works of fiction, though some of the absolute best ones are novels that will challenge you to consider deeper truths about yourself and about the world.

What’s the best book you’ve read lately? I’d love to hear about it!

Click on a title in this list to see my review of the book on Goodreads.

ABSOLUTE BEST BOOKS I’VE READ IN THE PAST FEW YEARS

FICTION THAT GETS AT DEEPER TRUTHS

MY FAVORITE LIVING AUTHOR?

Ann Patchett is a national treasure. I revere Toni Morrison as well, so I’m not sure I can say for sure that Patchett is my favorite living author. Anyway, though, there are more of her books on this list than any other writer:

FICTION

NON-FICTION

CLASSICS

  • Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
  • Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen (No review posted; I read this every other year or so. Best book of all time, as far as I’m concerned.)
  • The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett
  • The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway
Leave a Reply

